Words of wisdom

sir-winston-churchill

My father-in-law recently shared a great selection of words to live by.  I pared his list down to my favorite ten (and am particularly fond of the Churchill quote).  Enjoy!

Many people start a career with a dream, then get busy forgetting it. – Unknown

If you want something you have never had, you must be willing to do something you have never done. – Thomas Jefferson

If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking. – Haruki Murakami

Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid. – Albert Einstein

Success, it is not the position where you are standing, but which direction you are going. – Oliver Wendell Holmes

You will never reach your destination if you stop and throw stones at every dog that barks. – Winston Churchill

The greatest weapon against stress is our ability to choose one thought over another. – William James

I choose a lazy person to do a hard job, because a lazy person will find an easy way to do it. – Bill Gates

People who cannot find time for recreation are obliged sooner or later to find time for illness. – John Wanamaker

They asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down “happy”. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life. – John Lennon

Leave a Reply

