Happy birthday

flag

The term “ex-patriot”, used to describe Americans living overseas, has always struck me as pejorative. Like most people, I took a lot for granted while living in the USA – something that I never realized or appreciated until moving abroad. I’ve never felt more patriotic towards my home country, in the truest sense of the word, than I have while living & working in China for the past 7 years.

The United States of America has always been a messy, contradictory, aspirational work-in-progress, but this strikes me as the hallmark of a true democracy. The events of this past week have been a compelling reminder of this. Say what you will about the USA, but there’s no other passport I’d rather hold.

Happy birthday, America!

Leave a Reply

