Your Man In China

Kevin speaking in Beijing

Thanks to my friends & colleagues – within Disney and across the international arts & entertainment community – for the kind posts, emails and phone calls following the announcement that I am moving on from my role as VP & Head of Creative for Local Content at The Walt Disney Company Greater China.

I’ve received various questions, all of which essentially boil down to:  “What’s next?”

First stop:  decompression tank.  I’ve enjoyed my deep dive with Disney in China over the past three years, but it’s a breath of fresh air to surface again.  My infant daughter Claire Skye has brought new joy to my life, and I’m basking in the time that I am now able to spend with her. Cliche as it may sound, there really is nothing more important.

I look forward to resuming my independent endeavors in due course, and appreciate those who have already contacted me on this front.  My career has been an oscillation between studio and indie pursuits, and it’s once again time to lose the reins and run free.  China is not the place to be harnessed to a stagecoach.

On that note, I will continue my adventures in China, where I have lived & worked for the past 7 years.  The energy and opportunity that drew me here in 2008 have increased exponentially, and great things are on the horizon.

My base of operations will change from Beijing to Shanghai this September.  I would say that I’ll miss my northern friends & colleagues, if not for the fact that we’ll continue to see each other more than ever.  There’s much to do together.

Your man in China,

Kevin

Your Man In China

Leave a Reply

